Val Mason Scholarship

The Val Mason Scholarship was created in memory of the first President of the Canadian Society of Club Managers (CSCM), Val Mason, in recognition of his commitment to education in club managment.

The award is to provide scholarships to individuals who are pursuing a career in club management. The scholarships are funded by the interest generated from the Val Mason Scholarship and the number of scholarships to be awarded each year is determined by the CSCM Board of Directors.


The Val Mason Scholarship of the CSCM provides for the award of a $2,000 scholarship. In addition, the recipient receives complimentary CSCM Student membership for the membership year following the award.


To qualify for this scholarship, the following criteria have been set by the CSCM. The applicant must:

  • Be nominated by a member of CSCM and a covering letter of recommendation must accompany the application package
  • Provide a minimum 500-word essay explaining his/her interest in the club management industry
  • Be employed, or have been recently employed, at a member affiliated club of CSCM
  • Show a keen interest in pursuing a career in the club management profession
  • Indicate how his/her education is presently funded
  • Include a transcript of his/her grades.


Nominations are reveiwed by the Awards Committee which makes its recommendations to the CSCM Board. Nomination forms, complete with supporting documents, must be submitted to

As part of the evaluation process, the Awards Committee may conduct an interview.

Past Recipients

2001 - J. Bartucci and C. Wallace
2002 - J. Burwell
2003 - G. Burnie
2004 - R. Carberry and T. Sand
2005 - W. Truax and A. Dobson
2006 - D. Sept and E. Rama
2007 - C. Dracz
2008 - L. MacGregor and R. Gibbs
2009 - R.. Leenderste, S. Cram and M. Keller
2010 - A. Mazzone
2011 - S. McMracken and C. Byrne
2012 - M. Momney
2013 - R. Aye
2016 - J. Gaudreau-Beaupré and S. Snelling
2017 - M. Hague