Log On


| remind me | new user |

Get Connected:

Club of the Year Award

The Club of the Year Award is presented to a CSCM affiliated club that has shown significant  innovation, leadership and social responsibility in club management profession.

One winner will be selected from each of the following three club categories determined by total annual revenues:

  • small size club (total revenues under $2mil)
  • medium size club (total revenues $2 - 5mil)
  • large size club (total revenues over $5mil) 

2017 Club of the Year Award Recipients

We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2017 Club of the Year awards in the following categories:

Small size club (total revenues under $2)
[insert club logo] Kingston Yacht Club, Kingston, Ontario
Commodore – Ross Cameron
General Manager – Gregory McNab

Medium size club (total revenues $2 – 5mil)
[insert club logo] Royal Victoria Yacht Club, Victoria, British Columbia
Commodore – Gordon A. Wilkinson
General Manager – Simon Gatrell, CMM

Large size club (total revenues over $5mil)
[insert club logo] Victoria Golf Club, Victoria, British Columbia
Club President – Valerie Fitzpatrick
General Manager – Scott Kolb

Message from Past Recipients

 Download The National Club (PDF)

Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadron

Award Criteria

Candidates for this award must employ a General Manager/CEO/COO that is an Active, International or Honorary Life member in good standing with the CSCM and must meet at least one of the following criteria:

  • Have made a difference in its community by its involvement in a cause or project – Community Involvement;
  • Have developed a procedure or an idea that had a measurable impact on the environment – Environmental Stewardship;
  • Have hosted or will be hosting a national or an international event (i.e. the Canadian Open, the International Federation of Disabled Sailing World Championships, World Junior Curling Championship, CIBC National Cricket League, Canadian Masters Badminton Championships, etc.) – Hosting an Exceptional Event;
  • Has been instrumental in developing professional leaders within their staff – Leadership Development;
  • Have hosted a CSCM event (i.e. club tour, golf tournament, president’s dinner, etc.) at its facility – Contribution to the CSCM; or
  • Has achieved exceptional success in at least one of the following club management core competencies:

Accounting and Financial Management External and Governmental Influences
Club Governance Human & Professional Resources
Facilities Management Leadership
Food & Beverage Management Membership & Marketing
Golf, Sports & Recreation Management Interpersonal Skills

Nomination Process 

To nominate the club, the GM/CEO/COO must submit an essay highlighting the event, idea or exceptional achievement of the club during the past three years. The submission must be accompanied by a letter from the club’s President supporting the nomination and may include information from stakeholders (i.e.. Provincial or national sports associations, community leagues, charitable organizations, government officials, etc.) that would be beneficial in the selection process.

 Download Sample Club of the Year Submission (PDF)

The Award will be presented at the annual National Conference. The Club President will be invited to the awards ceremony along with the Club’s General Manager.

The winning club will be featured in the Club Manager Quarterly as a major educational feature (why they received the award and what others can learn from them).

Club of the Year Award Past Recipients

Small Size Club Medium Size Club Large Size Club
 2016    The Kelowna Yacht Club  The Glencoe Club


Miramichi Golf & Country Club   Oakdale Golf & Country Club


Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadron The National Club


Muskoka Lakes Golf & Country Club Hamilton Golf & Country Club


The Beaconsfield Golf Club


Calgary Curling Club
The Granite Golf Club 
The Scarboro Golf & Country Club